Playing to my Strengths

And the struggle continues. This week will be a test of my anxiety as I battle with the T.V. news segment of my story. I am not usually one to give myself praise in the midst of a challenge, but I’ve gotten better. In the spirit of improvement, I award myself a figurative participation ribbon for hooking a unique story out of a  broad sea of ordinary ones. I had selected a story about the Columbia track program for children in the area. While it was a good story, it was safe, and somewhat incredibly boring. At first, I ignored the tips I had for more interesting stories within the running club, but I began to think more about it. 

In the spirit of improvement, I will award myself a figurative participation ribbon for hooking a unique story out of a broad sea of ordinary ones. I originally selected a story about the Columbia track program for children in the area. While it was a good story, it was safe, and somewhat incredibly boring. At first, I ignored the tips I had for more interesting stories within the running club, but I began to think more about the type of story I would want to see if I were a Columbia resident. The track club story has been done numerous times and is hardly unique to people who live here. Through conversation with track club members, I learned of Whitney and Matt Dreier, a married couple who met through running and the Columbia Track Club. I decided to do my own version of “Sarah’s Stories” and make my story an intimate portrait of a subject within a broader subject.

For the past week, I’ve followed Matt and Whitney at home and at track club events. I’ve gotten to witness their love for running and their love for each other. I have a vision for how I want to tell their story; I only hope I can utilize the tools I have in order to do so in a way that allows others see it, too.

Hilary Weaver

Leave a Reply

